Kambucha For Your Health

Posted on Updated on

Kambucha For Your Health

What is Kambucha? If you’ve never heard of it, it is a great drink that can really boost your health. It was believed to have been originally from Asia and spread from the Far East to Europe and today it is practically a staple in the diets of the health and wellness groups all over the world.

It is made from a SCOBY (symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast), which is a rubbery organism that you put in sweetened green or black tea. You let it ferment in a glass container for about a week or so. As a culture, the SCOBY will digest the sugar in the tea and all its own will produce multiple organic acids, vitamin C and B, enzymes and amino acids. You can then add more tea, fruit juice or fruit to flavor this now fizzy delicious drink.

So what great things does Kambucha do?

  • gives you acidic probiotcs that support the good flora in your gut
  • helps with digestion
  • prevents the growth or overgrowth of candida (yeast)
  • detoxes your body
  • the large number of enzymes supports the pancreas and liver
  • it contains glucosamines that prevent joint degeneration
  • it produces vitamin B3 which improves blood flow
  •  it is filled with powerful antioxidants
  • supports your immune system
  • gives you energy
  • protects your intestines and keep pathogens and parasites away


If you want to have some fun, try making this healthy drink at home!

4 thoughts on “Kambucha For Your Health

    fightingfatblogger said:
    April 10, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    I have all of my ingredients for my first brew arriving tomorrow, can’t wait to get started now that I’ve got to grips with Kafir.

      Erica responded:
      April 11, 2014 at 8:52 am

      That’s great! Let me know how it comes out and what flavors you used. It’s AMAZING stuff!!
      Take care,
      Erica

        fightingfatblogger said:
        April 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

        I’ve got my first batch on the go now. I just worried that my SCOBY is really big and I’m only making a couple of litres for my first batch so the majority of it is immersed in the liquid and not floating on top. I’m also conscious of keeping everything sterile, not sure how I do that. I boiled the jar I used and the sieve and spoons and wiped everything with apple cider vinegar. Hoping that’s enough :S

        Erica responded:
        April 14, 2014 at 9:27 am

        It sounds like you’re doing a great job! ( :

Leave a Reply

